Raymond Chandler : Novels and other writing

Raymond Chandler was born in Chicago on July 23 1888.  He was educated in England, and first came to write detective stories in 1932.  Blackmailers Don't Shoot, which took five months to write, was published by Black Mask, the leading crime pulp of its time.  Writing proved lucrative, and was something Chandler enjoyed, so he continued.  His first novel appeared in 1939 (The Big Sleep), and he turned to screenwriting in 1943.  This, unfortunately, was to  prove considerably more difficult than fiction.  In 1954 Cissy, Chandler's wife of 30 years, passed away, after a lengthy illness.  Chandler plunged more deeply than ever into drink, still managing to produce some of the English language's greatest crime fiction.  In 1958, on a suggestion from British espionage author Ian Fleming, he traveled to Capri to interview deported mafioso 'Lucky' Luciano for the London Sunday Times.  This interview was never published, however, for legal reasons.  During the last year of his life Chandler was president of the Mystery Writers of America.  He died from pneumonia brought on by a particularly heavy drinking binge on March 23, 1959.

The Big Sleep (1939)

Farewell, My Lovely (1940)

The High Window (1942)

The Lady In The Lake (1943)

The Little Sister (1949)

The Long Goodbye (1954)

Playback (1959)

The Simple Art of Murder (Essay 1934)